2012 Distinguished Investigator Award

The Academy of Radiology Research is proud to announce that a talented group of researchers received its Distinguished Investigator Award in 2012. This prestigious honor recognizes individuals for their accomplishments in the field of imaging research. Over the past few decades, the radiology research community has been responsible for many important advances that have had a profound impact on healthcare. Researchers who have been named a Distinguished Investigator have made significant contributions to the field.

All recipients of the award were inducted into the Academy's Council of Distinguished Investigators during a ceremony on Monday, November 26, 2012. For more information on this exciting event, please see the RSNA Daily Bulletin.

The Following Researchers were Inducted into the Council in 2012:

Researcher Institution
Denise Aberle, MD University of California, Los Angeles
Kimberly Applegate, MD, MS Emory University
Roland Bammer, PhD Stanford University
Kevin Berbaum, PhD University of Iowa
Zaver Bhujwalla, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Nicolaas Bohnen, MD, PhD University of Michigan
Paul Bottomley, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Jeff Bulte, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Elizabeth Burnside, MD, MPH, MS University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ruth Carlos, MD, MS University of Michigan
Paul Carson, PhD University of Michigan
Heang-Ping Chan, PhD University of Michigan
Neal Clinthorne, MS University of Michigan
Carl D'Orsi, MD Emory University
Bruce Daniel, MD Stanford University
Christos Davatzikos, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Yuni Dewaraja, PhD University of Michigan
Jeffrey Duerk, PhD Case Western Reserve University
James Duncan, PhD Yale University
Tracy Faber, PhD Emory University
Rebecca Fahrig, PhD Stanford University
Jeffrey Brian Fowlkes, PhD University of Michigan
Eric Frey, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Kirk Frey, MD, PhD University of Michigan
Garry Gold, MD Stanford University
Ernest Garcia, PhD Emory University
Jean-Francois Geschwind, MD Johns Hopkins University
Mark Goodman, PhD Emory University
David Gur University of Pittsburgh
Joseph Helpern, PhD Medical University of South Carolina
Robert Herfkens, MD Stanford University
Edward Herskovits, MD, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Clifford Jack, MD Mayo Clinic
Michael Jacobs, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Ferenc Jolesz, MD Brigham and Women's Hospital
Michael Kilbourn, PhD University of Michigan
Dara Kraitchman, VMD, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Hank Kung, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Andrew Larson, PhD Northwestern University
Constance Lehman, MD, PhD University of Washington
Craig Levin, PhD Stanford University
Heike Daldrup-Link, MD Stanford University
Gary Luker, MD University of Michigan
Andrew Maidment, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Hui Mao, PhD Emory University
Michael Markl, PhD Northwestern University
Douglas Miller, PhD University of Michigan
Susumu Mori, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Sandy Napel, PhD Stanford University
John Oshinski, PhD Emory University
Kim Butts Pauly, PhD Stanford University
Perry Pickhardt, MD University of Wisconsin-Madison
Sylvia Plevritis, PhD Stanford University
Martin Pomper, MD, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Jianghong Rao, PhD Stanford University
Ravinder Reddy, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Stephen Riederer, PhD Mayo Clinic
Rahim Rizi, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Bruce Rosen, MD, PhD Massachusetts General
Jonathan Rubin, MD, PhD University of Michigan
Mitchell Schnall, MD, PhD University of Pennsylvania
Hyunsuk Shim, PhD Emory University
Barry Siegel, MD Washington University in St. Louis
Daniel Spielman, PhD Stanford University
Arthur Stillman, MD, PhD Emory University
Min-Ying Lydia Su, PhD University of California, Irvine
Andrew Taylor, MD Emory University
Ragini Verma, PhD University of Pennsylvania
John Votaw, PhD Emory University
Richard Wahl, MD Johns Hopkins University
Jinyuan Zhou, PhD Johns Hopkins University
Peter C.M. van Zijl, PhD Johns Hopkins University


The Academy of Radiology Research is an alliance of 28 professional imaging societies. Established in 1995, the Academy was the catalyst for creating the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB), for supporting its growth and development, for accelerating investment in vital imaging research areas by other NIH institutes, and for building support for radiology and imaging in Congress and the Executive Branch. The Academy also compiles data on imaging research, such as NIH rankings of grants to Radiology departments.