The Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research Announces Travel Award Recipients for the 2017 Medical Imaging Technology Showcase

 January 17, 2017 (Washington, DC)

The Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research is proud to announce the 2017 recipients of travel awards from the Academy’s Academic Council (ARRAC) to travel to Washington DC and participate in events surrounding the 8th Annual Medical Imaging Technology Showcase on Capitol Hill.

Please join the Academy in congratulating the following award recipients:

Kenneth Bader, PhD, University of Chicago
Matthew Bucknor, MD, University of California San Francisco
Nicolas Burris, MD, University of Michigan
Daniel Costa, MD, University of Texas, Southwestern Medical Center
Albert Hsiao, MD, PhD, University of California San Diego
Susie Huang, MD, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital
Joseph Ippolito, MD, PhD, Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology
Oliver Jonas, PhD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Kevin King, MD, University of Southern California
Matthew Lungren, MD, MPH, Stanford University
Joshua Nickerson, MD, University of Vermont College of Medicine Department of Biochemistry
Marie-France Penet, PhD, Johns Hopkins University
Luciano Prevedello, MD, MPH, Ohio State University
Guobao Wang, PhD, University of California, Davis
Meng Yin, PhD, Mayo Clinic

Awardees become part of the Academy Council of Early Career Investigators in Imaging (CECI2), an active advocacy division of the Academy. CECI2 members prepare and present a research poster depicting research in the pipeline at their Institution. These posters are meant to convey innovative imaging research to a lay audience on Capitol Hill.  Research posters are displayed at one or all events to include: the Medical Imaging Technology Showcase in the Senate, in your Representative’s office and during our annual evening reception.

Travel awardees will have the opportunity to meet with Program Directors and staff at the National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering (NIBIB) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and additional Institutes and Centers with significant imaging portfolios based on the interests of the awardees. Additionally, attendees will visit their Congressional offices the day of the medical technology showcase.

The Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research formed CECI2 as part of its commitment to ensuring that the next generation of imaging scientists understands the importance of research advocacy through opportunities to participate in Academy initiatives.

The 8th Annual Medical Imaging Technology Showcase recognizes imaging technology’s impact on patient care from detection to diagnosis and treatment. The event will be held on Tuesday, March 28 from 5:00 pm – 7:00 pm in the Hart Senate Office Building, Room, 902. Attendance to this event is free, and registration is now available online at /2017-medical-imaging-technology-showcase/. For questions and more information, please contact


About the Academy for Radiology & Biomedical Imaging Research’s Academic Council (ARRAC): ARRAC is comprised of the top academic radiology departments in the U.S. It focuses on building awareness of the advances in patient care made possible by the cutting-edge imaging research being performed at the nation’s premier institutions.

By |2017-04-25T19:18:57-04:00January 17th, 2017|advocacy news, events news, government relations news, member news|Comments Off on 2017 CECI2 Travel Awardee Announcement
Go to Top