2019 Gold Medal & DI Ceremony2019-11-25T21:06:10-05:00

Full Event Program Available Here


  • 3:00 PM
    Welcome Remarks
    Renee Cruea, MPA, Executive Director/Academy
  • 3:10 PM
    Gold Medal Presentation
    Hedvig Hricak, MD, PhD, President/Academy
  • 3:20 PM
    Gold Medal Recipient
    Steven E. Seltzer, MD
  • 3:30 PM
    Welcome Distinguished Investigators
    Reed Omary, MD, MS & Elizabeth Krupinski, PhD, Co-Chairs for the Academy Council of Distinguished Investigators
  • 3:40 PM
    Inductions into the Academy Council for Distinguished Investigators
  • 4:10-4:30 PM
    Photo Opportunities
  • 4:00-5:00 PM
    Awardees Reception

2019 Gold Medalist

Steven E. Seltzer, MD

“Few individuals have dedicated as much time and effort to advocacy on behalf of the imaging research community as Dr. Seltzer,” said Dr. Hricak.“ He has been a supporter of the Academy since its founding and has played an integral role in its activities ever since, serving admirably as president of the Academy from 2009 to 2011 and continues to assiduously support our work. He is now the Academy’s first Fellow in Health Care Policy — a position created to allow him to continue his work with the Academy at the highest level. His input is valued beyond words! He has nurtured the Academy, helping it grow in size, scope and importance.

Dr. Selzer
Steven E. Seltzer, MD, Chair Emeritus, Department of Radiology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
On behalf of all our members, I would like to express profound gratitude to him. His vision for what we could accomplish, and his dedication to realizing that vision, have benefited radiological research and patients everywhere.”

Dr. Seltzer has also served the Academy as the chair of the Coalition for Imaging and Bio-engineering Research (CIBR) as well as being a member of the Academy Board of Trustees.

Dr. Seltzer was the Chairman of the Department of Radiology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital (BWH) and the Philip H. Cook Professor of Radiology at Harvard Medical School from 1997 to 2016. Since then, he has served as Department Chair Emeritus, and devotes his professional time to teaching, mentoring and advocacy. He devotes his personal time to his family, and to a new avocation as a drummer.

He earned his baccalaureate and medical degrees from the University of Pennsylvania and did his Radiology Residency at the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital from 1976 to 1980, joining the Brigham faculty immediately afterwards. His clinical interests have been in the field of abdominal imaging, particularly advanced applications of helical CT. His research interests are in the arena of perception and psychophysics, focusing on improving our understanding of how radiologists detect, locate and classify abnormalities on diagnostic images. He has published well over 100 peer-reviewed research manuscripts on these topics. Dr. Seltzer has been involved in projects aimed at improving the quality, safety, productivity and cost-effectiveness of radiology services for more than two decades. As BWH Radiology Department Chair, he helped establish the Center for Evidence-Based Imaging (Ramin Khorasani, founding Director).

Active in many radiological organizations, Dr. Seltzer is a past president of the Association of University Radiologists and was awarded the AUR’s Gold Medal in 2004. In addition to serving as president of the Academy for Radiology Research, he served as the president of the Society of Chairs of Academic Radiology Departments from 2010 to 2012. He was awarded the Gold Medal from the Radiological Society of North America in 2015.

Dr. Seltzer and his wife Rochelle live in Brookline, Massachusetts. They have a family of two children, a daughter-in-law and two grandchildren.

Distinguished Investigator Awardees

  • Ken Arai, PhD
  • Kevin Bennett, PhD
  • Francis Blankenberg, MD
  • Colin Derdeyn, MD
  • Richard Duszak, MD
  • John Eisenbrey, PhD
  • Fiona Mary Fennessy, MB BCH, PhD
  • Katherine Ferrara, PhD
  • Joel Garbow, PhD
  • Yulin Ge, MD
  • Daniel Gochberg, PhD
  • Jan Grimm, MD, PhD
  • Rajiv Gupta, MD, PhD
  • Matti Hamalainen, PhD
  • Hao Huang, PhD
  • Peder Eric Zufall Larson, PhD
  • Robert Mach, PhD
  • Tarik Massoud, MD, PhD
  • Cynthia McCollough, PhD
  • Yubin Miao, PhD
  • Robert Miyaoka, PhD
  • Vitaly Napadow, PhD
  • Pari Pandharipande, MD, MPH
  • Dennis Parker, PhD
  • Savannah Partridge, PhD
  • Wellington Pham, PhD
  • Thomas Reiner, PhD
  • Mark Rosen, MD, PhD
  • Peter Scott, PhD
  • Dinggang Shen, PhD
  • Stephen Solomon, MD
  • Zhen Jane Wang, MD
  • Simon Warfield, PhD
  • Ona Wu, PhD
  • Dmitriy Yablonskiy, PhD
  • Hiroyuki Yoshida, PhD
  • Paul Yushkevich, PhD

Please RSVP to Emily Townley at etownley@acadrad.org.

Go to Top