Academy Gold Medal Awardees2024-04-11T11:18:13-04:00

Academy Gold Medal Awardees

2024 Gold Medal Awardee

Congresswoman Anna Eshoo

Representative of Californias 16th District


Acceptance Speech

Dr. Hedvig Hricak with Dr. Ruth Carlos, Academy President

2023 Gold Medal Awardee

Hedvig Hricak, MD, PhD, Dr(hcm)

Chair Emeritus, Department of Radiology, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Former Academy President, 2017 – 2019


2022 Gold Medal Awardee

Bruce Tromberg, PhD

Director, National Institute for Biomedical Imaging & Bioengineering (NIBIB)

Award Video

Carolyn Meltzer

2021 Gold Medal Awardee

Carolyn C. Meltzer, MD

Dean of the Keck School of Medicine of USC

Former Academy President, 2015-2017


2019 Gold Medal Awardee

Steven E. Seltzer, MD

Chair Emeritus, Department of Radiology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Former Academy President, 2009-2011


2018 Gold Medal Awardee

Dr. Ron Arenson

Chair Emeritus, Dept. of Radiology and Biomedical Imaging, University of California, San Francisco

Former Academy President, 2004-2005


2017 Gold Medal Awardee

Dr. N. Reed Dunnick

Chair Emeritus, University of Michigan

Former Academy President, 2006-2007


2016 Gold Medal Awardee

Dr. Douglas C. Maynard

Chair Emeritus, Wake Forest

Former Academy President, 2000-2001


2015 Gold Medal Awardee

Dr. Stanley Baum

Chair Emeritus, University of Pennsylvania

Former Academy President, 1998-1999


2014 Gold Medal Awardee

Dr. Roderick I. Pettigrew

Former Director, NIBIB



Established in 2014, the Academy Gold Medal is awarded for extraordinary contributions in advocacy and advancing the cause of radiology research. The award provides the opportunity to raise the profile of imaging research among scientific leaders and to provide recognition and encouragement for future efforts to individuals who have been successful advocates.


Each year, the award committee will consider recommending a recipient of the Gold Medal to the Academy Executive Committee. The committee will be chaired by the Immediate Past President of the Academy and that individual will choose three additional Board members selected by the Chair. The Executive Committee will approve the committee members once chosen. Award Committee Members shall serve for 1 year at the discretion of the President.


The Awards Committee will communicate electronically beginning no later than 60 days out from the Academy Distinguished Awards Ceremony. In years when the committee identifies a suitable candidate for the award, name of the candidate and the rationale for the selection will be conveyed to the Executive Committee. The Academy Executive Committee will vote on the nomination electronically. The Academy Executive Director will notify the recipient.


In determining whether a candidate’s contributions are outstanding, criteria which the Awards Committee may wish to use include the amount and extent of contributions, the significance of the contributions insofar as how they affect the Academy, or the difficulties associated with performing or taking on the task leading to the contributions. In considering any candidates for this Award, consultation by the Committee with the Executive Director and Staff may be useful. The committee, if it sees fit, can independently generate candidates for the award.


The Academy Advocacy Award will be presented at the opening of the Academy Distinguished Investigator Ceremony held during the RSNA meeting. The President will make the award presentation.

Go to Top