Dr. Sanjiv Sam Gambhir2017-01-11T17:34:25-05:00


Dr. Sanjiv Sam Gambhir / Academy of Radiology Research Academic Council

Dr. Sanjiv Sam Gambhir is the Virginia & D.K. Ludwig Professor of Cancer Research and the Chair of Radiology at Stanford University School of Medicine. He also heads up the Canary Center at Stanford for Cancer Early Detection and directs the Molecular Imaging Program at Stanford (MIPS). He received his MD and PhD from the UCLA Medical Scientist Training Program. He has over 575 publications in the field and over 40 patents pending or granted. An internationally recognized researcher in molecular imaging with over $90 Million of NIH funding as the Principal Investigator, his lab has focused on interrogating fundamental molecular events in living subjects. He has developed and clinically translated several multimodality molecular imaging strategies including imaging of gene and cell therapies. He has also pioneered imaging areas such as Bioluminescence Resonance Energy Transfer (BRET), split-reporter technology, Raman imaging in
vivo, Molecular Photoacoustic imaging, PET reporter genes, and novel in vitro and in vivo strategies for the early detection of cancer.

He serves on numerous academic advisory boards for Universities around the world and also served as a member of the Board of Scientific Advisors of the National Cancer Institute from 2004-2012. He serves as an advisor for multiple companies such as General Electric, Philips, and Google Life Sciences. He holds several FDA IND’s on novel imaging agents and is leading many clinical trials. He has also founded or co-founded three startup’s in the diagnostics space.

Among his many awards he is the recipient of the George Von Hevesy Prize and the Paul C. Aebersold Award for outstanding achievement in basic nuclear medicine science from the Society of Nuclear Medicine, Outstanding Researcher Award from the Radiological Society of Northern America in 2009, the Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award from the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, the Holst Medal, the Tesla Medal, the Hounsfield Medal from Imperial College, London, and the J. Allyn Taylor International Prize in Medicine.

He was elected to the Institute of Medicine/National Academy of Medicine in 2008, the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2014, and to the National Academy of Inventors in 2015.

Go to Top